History, significance of the Moroccan flag

An Overview of Moroccan Flag History

When even the smallest detail is important

Moroccan flag customs were restricted or even outlawed during the twentieth century while Morocco was ruled by France and Spain. The basic red flag flown by Moroccan ships during the war with France was altered by the French on November 17, 1915. The Seal or Pentacle of Solomon, an ancient pentagram, was positioned in the center of the pattern.

Its implications were very different from those of the five-pointed star on modern flags, which was first made popular by the United States, and it was used in ancient societies in a variety of ways across a wide range of geographical and theological locations. The green pentagram on a red background remained the national flag of Morocco when it won independence from France in 1956.

Arabic flag of Morocco

Each of the five peaks that make up the Moroccan flag’s star has a symbolic meaning; they are linked to the five Islamic tenets that form the foundation of a Muslim’s existence and to the five duties that are expected of every Muslim.

1. A certificate or witness statement

It is a manifestation of religious conviction. The Arabic phrase “la Ilaha Illa Allah, Muhammad Rasul Allah,” which translates as “There is only one true God, and Muhammad is Allah’s messenger,” states that Muhammad is His messenger and that there is only one real God. One of the most important religious pillars is regarded as being this. The implication is that in order to be acknowledged as a Muslim, one must be declared by two witnesses and renounce polytheism and idolatry.

2. pleading

On the Moroccan flag, a crescent moon stands for both prayer and the other point of the star. There shouldn’t need to be any intermediaries in the relationship between the person and Allah. To honor Solomon’s promise of obedience and submission to God, the believer must give five prayers daily. These prayers must be led by someone knowledgeable about the Qur’an and chosen by the entire community. The direction of these prayers, whether they are offered in mosques or elsewhere, must always be toward Mecca.

3. Charity

This point on the Moroccan flag signifies the nation’s dedication to helping the less fortunate. The capital of every believer is equivalent to 2.5 percent of each person’s annual salary, and it is given to the neediest and underprivileged members of our society.

4. Fasting

The flag of Morocco is also displayed as a symbol of fasting during the ninth lunar month known as Ramadan. This fasting is a special form of self-purification that encourages compassion for people who are hungry and supports the growth of self-control. Christians are prohibited from eating, drinking, or having sexual relations during this fast. Families who follow the fast have their first meal before the sun rises because the fast is interrupted at sundown.

5. Pilgrimage

The final point of the star on the national flag of Morocco symbolizes the journey to Mecca. Furthermore, it is the duty of all Christians who are financially and physically competent to take part in this journey. The Irham, a simple white two-piece garment, is worn at Mecca with the intention of eradicating any disparities between believers based on social class.

The background of the Moroccan flag

The first Moroccan flag, which belonged to the Idrisid dynasty, and is frequently referred to as the state’s founders, was raised in 788. It was the country of Morocco’s first flag to fly. This flag was only a white field without any design.
Due to the numerous arguments about the creation date, creator, and early interpretations of the symbolism of the Moroccan flag, it is challenging to determine its historical beginnings.

Rather than the five points, it has now, the star on the Moroccan national flag is said to have had six points in fact when the flag first appeared.
The red flag was not allowed to be flown at sea when Morocco was ruled by the Spanish and French; it could only be flown within the nation’s borders.
The current Moroccan flag is all red with a green five-pointed star in the middle, just as it formerly was. This star has been the nation of Morocco’s official emblem since it was added to the country’s flag by royal decree in 1915.

The Moroccan flag may be seen flying on public buildings and even on the streets when holidays are approaching and the nation is busy with tourists.

Other Moroccan flags:

The military and civil insignia are further variations of the Moroccan flag. The naval flag is identical to the civil flag, but it also has a yellow crown and a star on each of its equines. The civilian insignia is quite similar to the official flag of Morocco, but it also has a yellow crown and a star in the top left corner.

Morocco also uses the following flags:

white banners. In fights, these flags were carried. Each unit of 100 troops carried one of them made of white silk. There is no god but God, and Mohammed is his prophet, read a white flag held by the leaders of the battalions;

King’s Guard. If there is one thing we are certain of that distinguishes Morocco, it is its rich history, not only of the Moroccan flag but of every part of the country. The Moroccan flag of the Royal Guard is green in color and bears a yellow five-pointed star in the center, as well as crescent moons and white stars at each of the corners. We cannot ignore how friendly its residents are.

By starting with our travel blog on Morocco, you can discover the most significant Moroccan facts and traits. On our blog, women can find out more information on traveling to Morocco. The travel company Vacations In Morocco offers travel blogs from Fes, Marrakech, Casablanca, and many other locations.